Blog #12: Your onramp to the infinite.

When you know the right thing, say the right thing, do the right thing, show up in the right place at the right time, perceive the answer, and let understanding, empathy, and compassion flow, you’re in the seventh chakra, Sahaswara.

They say Sahaswara chakra is your connection to the divine.

Your drop in the cosmic ocean. Your onramp to the infinite. Your connection to the higher self. All you tree-hugging, universally-loving, consciousness-expanding, awareness-increasing, higher-self-developing types tap the seventh chakra for inspiration and insight.

It’s located at the crown of your head, and is physically associated with the central nervous system and cerebral cortex.

Flowing, you’ll experience intuitive knowing, spiritual connection, a high value on ethics and humanism, and a sense of integration. Blocked, you can experience depression, chronic exhaustion, muscle, skin, and skeletal ailments, feel lack of purpose, and frequent, jittery annoyance.

In relationship, seventh chakra couples are intuitive partners who can communicate silently, experience a high degree of empathy, and can make decisions easily together. They feel great trust and loyalty.

Blocked, they can be petty and argumentative, selfish, shortsighted, and cruel.

In Sanskrit, Sahaswara means “thousand petal.”

It suggests your place within the infinite. There are no vector points that define infinity. Infinite petals emerge from infinite centers, and every petal is a center in itself.

Sahaswara chakra is visualized as a violet-colored lotus with a thousand petals:


Consciously accessing and flowing through the seventh chakra is a lifetime pursuit. That said, every day we can enjoy the experience of pure consciousness. As I said in the beginning, those brief, shimmering moments of insight are the seventh chakra flow.

And the more practice we do, the more frequent and profound our experiences of the infinite.

I’ve read that the Sahaswara chakra is at the top of the chakra ladder, and you get there one rung at a time.

Starting with the first chakra at the base of the spine, we slowly, intentionally, and progressively come to terms with “I am.” Then spend the rest of our lives working through the second chakra, “I feel,” the third, “I do,” the fourth, “I love,” the fifth, “I speak,” and the sixth, “I see.

The seventh, “I know,” suggests the summation of all that searching and growing. It’s not an intellectual knowing. It’s silent perception and understanding.


Of course, there’s no more powerful leverage toward, and challenges to, that flow than being in relationship.

Who better to share the journey than your partner? Who better to provide traction toward growth and a mirror of your progress? Who else can take you to the ecstatic heights—or remind you of your roots?

I’ve read that the sages’ most profound skill is not imparting wisdom, but hearing it. Listening. Bet you know where I’m going with this. Because there’s nobody more important to listen to—and yet more challenging to hear—than your partner.

There’s an interesting practice, maybe one of the most difficult you’ll ever attempt: It’s called de-escalation.

The idea of de-escalation is used by moderators and martial artists. Literally, it’s about avoiding a fight by avoiding provocative words and actions. But in a larger sense, it refers to that moment when you separate yourself from the ego at battle and release your attachment to an outcome.

OK, so here’s the exercise:

You and your partner are having a fight. It’s ugly. It’s mean. It’s passionate and careening toward saying things you’ll regret. But rather than dropping that big ol’ argument depth charge, take a long, deep breath. Listen. And listen some more.

Visualize both you and your partner among those thousand petals. See each other as two expressions of the infinite. Two pebbles tossed into the same pond. Two stars sharing the night sky.

Ultimately, stars just want to shine their light. As Rumi said, “Light looks slightly different on this wall than it does on that wall, and a lot different on this other one. But it is still one light.”

You and your partner are one light. Your disagreement may be superficial or substantial, but it’s likely the goal is the same. One wants to do it this way. One wants to do it that way. The most important thing is that you figure out how to do it together.

That vulnerable, beautiful moment when you can release your position in favor of peace is when the seventh chakra flows.

BTW, it’s helpful when you do this together.

Frankly, there’s little that’s more infuriating than one partner fully engaged in a fight while the other is trying to peace out.

So sometimes the flow means a fight. But at least you can position yourself as fighting toward an end rather than fighting with each other.

A useful mantra is, “I am open to letting go of my attachments.”

Here’s a cool movement practice that helps generate seventh chakra energy in pairs.

But first, please remember to always remain well within your experience and comfort zone. This description does not include the kind of detailed instruction you may need from a yoga teacher.


That said:

Lie on your backs, with the crowns of your heads close or even gently touching. Here’s the flow:

  1. Start to slow, deepen and match your breathing. Inhale deeply. Exhale completely.
  2. Prepare for Apanasana (knees-to-chest) by settling your sacrum onto the mat. Inhale together, and then exhale as you draw your knees to your chest. Inhale as you extend your legs back to the mat. Repeat three times.
  3. Prepare for Setu Bandha (bridge pose) by drawing your heels toward your ischial tuberosity, the sit bones. Inhale together, and then exhale as you rise into your bridges. Take two-to-six complete breaths together, and then slowly roll down, vertebra by vertebra until your sacrum is back on the mat. Repeat three times.
  4. Prepare for butterfly by drawing the soles of your own feet together. Together, inhale as you slowly draw your knees together, and exhale as you allow your knees to settle toward the mat. Repeat three times.
  5. Prepare for Supta Matsyendrasana (knee down twist) by drawing your knees to your chest. Make sure your shoulders and sacrum are firmly on the mat. Inhale together, and then exhale as you allow your knees to gently fall to the right. Allow your left hip to rise, but keep your left shoulder on the mat. Inhale your knees back up, take a breath, then exhale your knees down to the left. Allow your right hip to rise, but keep your right shoulder on the mat. That’s one round. Repeat three times.
  6. BONUS: Add Matsyasana (the fish pose) with a similar sequence of activating and releasing the pose three times, with your breath. I’m not going to explain Matsyasana because it requires an understanding of asana and your own capabilities, so I leave this to you. If you’re interested in learning more, check it out in Yoga Journal.


We’re looking for opportunities to share Couple’s Yoga. If you have ideas, ways or places to we can teach, please share them. Meanwhile, you can keep in touch with us by leaving comments here, through our website or Facebook.